From canoe slalom and football to para-triathlon and golf, our 2022 inductees have been at the top of their respective sports for years.

We are delighted to induct into our Hall of Fame; University of Nottingham alumni David Florence, Cardiff Met University alumni Sophie Ingle, Lauren Steadman MBE from the University of Portsmouth, and University of Stirling alumni Catriona Matthew OBE. 

David Florence 

David Florence is arguably the greatest GB slalom canoeist of all time having been part of the GB Senior Team for 21 years with an unprecedented medal haul. David competed in BUSA while he studied at the University of Nottingham and won five gold medals across five different years of study. 

He made history as the first British Canoe Slalom athlete to attend three successive Olympic Games, and was the first athlete in the history of canoe slalom to win Olympic medals in more than one class winning silver in the C1 in Beijing in 2008 and then silver in the C2 in both London and Rio. 

Sophie Ingle 

Whilst a student at Cardiff Met University, Sophie played BUCS for the three years, winning both the Southern Prem and the Championship.  

Sophie Ingle currently plays for FA Women’s Super League club Chelsea and is captain of the Wales national team. At Chelsea, Sophie has won the WSL and the Continental League Cup, was a UEFA Champions League finalist and was Chelsea’s Players’ Player of the Year award winner.  

Lauren Steadman MBE 

Lauren Steadman has been the most successful female para triathlete in the world over the last ten years. Whilst studying at the University of Portsmouth, she combined achieving a first class degree with competing in BUCS Swimming Championships and two Paralympic Games. 

Between 2012 and 2016, Lauren competed in both Europe and across the world in Paratriathlon clocking up an impressive 16 gold medals and 2 silver medals. With numerous World and European titles to her name, Lauren reached the pinnacle of her sport by winning Paralympic gold in Tokyo. 

Catriona Matthew OBE 

Holding three degrees from the University of Stirling, Catriona Matthew OBE has enjoyed a stellar career in golf. Catriona was the first female golf scholar, also becoming Scottish Girls Champion in 1986 and Scottish Under-21s stroke play champion in 1988 and 1989. She won the Scottish Amateur title three times, and the British Amateur title in 1993. Catriona was a 3x member of the Great Britain and Ireland Curtis Cup team.   

On the professional stage, Catriona won the Australian Open, the 1998 WPGA Championship, was the first Scottish player to win the Women’s British Open in 2009, and that same year was the Ladies European Tour Player of the Year. Catriona was given one the sports highest accolades when she was appointed Solheim Cup captain, where she led Team Europe to famous victories in 2019 and 2021. 

Congratulations to our 2022 inductees join the likes of Dame Jessica Ennis-Hill, Sir Roger Bannister and many more sporting greats on our Hall of Fame.  

Share this: