We are delighted to announce the six strong GB Students team with sights set on success at this year’s tournament in Honfleur, France.

In association with the Lawn Tennis Association (LTA), British Universities and Colleges Sport (BUCS) allows three male and three female athletes to compete for GB Students across single, double and mixed double formats. 

The Master’U BNP Paribas international university tennis event, managed by French University Sport Federation (FFSU) and French Tennis Federation (FFT), in partnership with BNP Paribas, welcomes the eight top nations from around the world. The Championships are taking place from Friday 1 December to Sunday 3 December 2023 in Honfleur, France. 

GB Students has a rich history at the tournament with a number of well-known professional tennis players having performed at the Championships. Alicia Barnett and Olivia Nicholls took the bronze medal in 2016, with Nicholls going onto win the same colour medal in the doubles at the World University Games in Taipei the following year. Jonny O’Mara and Maia Lumsden won gold in Lille in 2017, with Maia also taking silver in 2018 and 2019. 

Last year, GB students won silver. The team defeated Australia in the semi final before losing to a strong US team in the final 2-4, having had five match points in an exciting women’s doubles contest when the match score was 2-2. 

This year’s line up will be led by the women’s number 1 and Millie Rajecki, studying at NC State. Millie also sits in the top 10 of the US college rankings and top 800 of the WTA world rankings. 

Millie is joined by former GB junior internationals Victoria Allen and Esther Adeshina, Finn Bass who recently won the $25,000 Pro Series doubles event in Glasgow, 2021 BUCS Individual and Doubles Champion Michael Shaw from Loughborough University and recent $25,000 UTR Progress Tour champion Ewen Lumsden.

The team selected is: 

Ewen Lumsden | University of Washington 

Michael Shaw | Loughborough University 

Finn Bass | Baylor University 

Millie Rajecki | North Carolina State  

Esther Adeshina | University of Tennessee 

Victoria Allen | Florida State University 

Share this: