The FISU World University Cross Country Championships 2022 will be hosted in Aveiro, Portugal on Saturday 12 March 2022 - the first international event of the BUCS calendar. 

The GB Students representatives competing at the 2022 Championships were chosen following the BUCS Cross County Championships, held earlier this month on a sunny but muddy day in Middlesex.  A total of 12 athletes have been selected, with four athletes per category included in the women’s individual, men’s individual and mixed relay. 

The female athletes that have been selected include Kirsty Walker from Loughborough University, who just a few weeks ago became BUCS champion in the long course event. Following closely in third was Megan Keith from Edinburgh University, who has also made the GB Students team.  

The men’s individual selection also includes BUCS Cross County success with all four athletes selected securing a top 10 position in the men’s 10km race. Loughborough University’s Matt Stonier secured the top spot of the group with his bronze medal in the race.  

The BUCS events don’t stop there for the GB Students delegation; several will be competing at BUCS Nationals in Sheffield this weekend - the biggest university multi event sport of the year. Sabrina Sinha and Saskia Millard will be representing the University of Birmingham, and hoping for success at Indoor Athletics in the 1500m and 3000m. 

The 12 athletes selected to represent GB Students are certainly no strangers to the international stage. The group includes two previous European Champions, Benjamin West and Megan Keith, and four athletes who have represented Great Britain in events varying from European Junior Cross Country Championships and Sprint Duathlon Championships, to the Cross International Juan Muguerza and European Cross Short Course Trials.  

We have no doubt this group will do BUCS and Great Britain proud at the World Cross Country Championships and we can’t wait to watch them shine. We’ll be bringing you all the updates on how the athletes get on at the games as well as the details on our next team selections.   

The full team list is here:  

Women’s Individual  
Isobel Fry - St Mary’s University 
Megan Keith - University of Edinburgh 
Saskia Millard - Birmingham University 
Kirsty Walker - Loughborough University  

Men’s Individual  
Cameron Allan - St Mary’s University 
Alex Ediker - St Mary’s University 
Joe Hudson – University of Birmingham  
Matt Stonier - Loughborough University  

Mixed Relay  
Ned Potter - Loughborough University 
Alexandra Millard - Loughborough University 
Ben West - Loughborough University 
Sabrina Sinha – University of Birmingham  

Spencer Duval - Team Manager and Relay Coach 
Steve Mitchell – Women's Coach 
Mark Nixon – Men's Coach 

Share this: