A squad of 50 rowers with their support team will head to Jönköping, Sweden to compete in the 2019 EUSA Rowing Championships.

The crews come from 11 universities throughout the United Kingdom. Each crew finished in the top four in their division at the BUCS Regatta in May. The team is looking to top last years results were the GB University team won six gold, six silver and five bronze.

For the 2019 event, the University of Reading has 12 athletes across four boats with many returners from last years successful crews.

Over one quarter of the GB Rowing Team racing at the World Rowing Championships in Austria this week have raced at an EUSA Rowing Championships earlier in their rowing careers

To follow the event, visit 2019 European Rowing Championships website.

Crews to watch: 

  • Chloe Knight and Lucy Ryan won a gold medal in the quad and a silver in the double last year, will be looking to repeat their success in the double. II
  • Imperial won gold in the men’s eight in 2018 and this year will be represented across all of the openweight men’s sweep categories.  
  • Matt Brigham who finished second to Sam McKeown in the Men's Single Scull at the BUCS Regatta, was the talk of Henley Royal Regatta this year when he beat current Olympic, and five-time World Champion, Mahe Drysdale from New Zealand.


GB Universities Rowing Team 2019 

University of Bath
Laura Macro (LW1x)
University of Cambridge
Catherine King, Gemma King (W2-)
Pippa Whittaker (W1x)
Durham University
Charlie Spink (M1x)
University of Glasgow
Ethan Matthews, Pedro Menezes (LM2-)
Imperial College London (M8, M4-, W4-, M2-, W2-, LM1x)
Edward Bentley, Daisy Bethell, Tiphaine Cayol, Ella Cope, Naomi Doye, Pippa England, Jonah Harris, James Harrison, Milford Killian-Dawson, Robert Kinnier Wilson, Ben Moore, Naom Mouelle, Gledisa Musollari, Max Ridgwell, Thomas Smith, Jack Walsh
Coach: Jamie Kirkwood
University of Leeds
Matthew Brigham (M1x)
Coach: Matt Paul
University of Leicester
Camilla Plumb (LW1x)
Coach: James Plumb
University of Nottingham (LM2x & LM2-, LW1x)
Lewis Howlett, James Lawn (LM2x & LM2-)
Lucy Gillbanks (LW1x)
University of Oxford
Arthur Arnould, James Featherstone, Edward Lamb, Nicholas Ryan (LM4-)
Anneloes Hoff, Naomi Holland, Caitlin O’Brien, Eleanor Watts (LW4x)
Coaches: Chris O’Hara (Women), Sam Wells (Men)
Queen’s University Belfast (M1x, W1x)
Fiona Bell (W1x)
Samuel McKeown (M1x)
Coach: Peter Dick
University of Reading
Rory Harris, George Lawton, Edoardo Marshal, Sean O’Mahony (M4x)
Francesca Bailey Tate, Sophie Lewis, Kate Lyster, Emily May (W4x)
Alex Badcott, Joe Pitt (M2x)
Chloe Knight, Lucy Ryan (W2x)
Coaches: Chris Bartley, Will Rand, Charlotte Taylor

Management and Support Team
Team Manager: James Lee 
Assistant Team Manager: Katy You
Finance Assistant: Fiona Rennie
Drivers: Jamie Smith and Sam Wells

Share this: