Skip to Content
British universities & Colleges Sport

Squash (OLD)

The domestic premier league consists of 8 teams competing in both the men’s and women’s competition. Initially teams compete in two groups of 4 with the winners, and winners of the crossover matches between 2nd and 3rd placed teams, progressing to the 2nd stage ‘Upper Group’ and losers entering the ‘Lower Group’. Meanwhile teams below the Premier League compete in regional leagues throughout the winter on Wednesday afternoons.



The BUCS Individual Squash Championships have grown dramatically over recent years and now includes 7 grades for men and 3 for women.

LUSL has both a Women's and Men's Squash league including a cup competition for the men. 

The BUCS Sports Advisory Group provides sport specific and technical advice to the BUCS Office. To view the membership of the group please click hereTo view the BUCS Squash strategy please click here.

Squash is also part of the BUCS international programme and is represented at the World University Championships every 2 years.

The World University Championships are for national representative teams (GB & NI) and are held every two years in various countries across the world.

For more details on the competing at this event please click on the World University Championship link on the sub menu.

The BUCS Sport Development team works in partnership with England Squash to provide students and members with development support and access to coaching, workforce and volunteering opportunities, participation programmes, plus funding and bursary opportunities. Information on current interventions and opportunities can be found under the 'Get Involved' tab to the left hand side of this page.


Image description
Back to top