Skip to Content
British universities & Colleges Sport

15-a-side Competitions

Men's Competitions

BUCS Super Rugby, North/South A, North/South B, Championship and Vase:

Trophy and Tier One

Tier Two and Below and Conference Cup


Championship and Premier League:

The BUCS Women's Rugby Union Championship is made up of 12 teams who initially compete in two leagues (Premier A North and South). Each team plays home and away with all teams qualifying for the Championship. The top team from each league will be given a bye through the first round.

Trophy and Tier One:

Sitting below the Prem A leagues are 5 Tier One leagues (one per BUCS playing conference) each with 6 teams. All teams play home and away in the league.

All of these teams play in a national knockout competition which runs alongside the league programme. This is known as the BUCS Trophy. The finals will be played on the same day as the Championship Finals.

Tier Two and Below and Conference Cup:

Leagues are conference based with 6 in a league playing home and away.

Each of the 5 conferences have it's own Conference Cup which are knockouts running alongside the league programme for teams within that conference (where too many teams are in a conference for a single knockout competition a Conference Plate is introduced for teams in the lower tiers).


Latest tweets

Image description
Image description
Back to top