Skip to Content
British universities & Colleges Sport
Awards Dinner 2018

BUCS Awards

With the shortlist announced, find out who will claim the BUCS Awards on Thursday 11 July!

Taking place on Thursday 11 July, the BUCS Awards Dinner will be held at the University of the West of England (UWE). The BUCS Awards look to recognise and celebrate the achievements of BUCS institutions from their student athletes, to their staff and volunteers. With this years' awards being held during the centenary of British university sport and an impressive standard across all BUCS member institutions, BUCS expects the evening to be the best yet! Awards Dinner tickets are available to purchase here until 11:59pm on Tuesday 26 June.

BUCS Awards 2019 Shortlist


With 125 nominations submitted for this year's awards, after tough deliberation BUCS would like to congratulate the following selected to shortlist: 


BUCS Sportsman of the Year Sponsored by Outgoing

Duncan Scott (University of Stirling)

Luke Northmore (Cardiff Metropolitan)

Taka Suzuki (Northumbria University)  


BUCS Sportswoman of the Year Sponsored by Outgoing

Anna Emilie Møller (St Mary's University)

Chloe Dickson (University of Edinburgh)

Hayley Mills (University of Nottingham)  


BUCS Team of the Year Sponsored by Kukri

Men's Volleyball (University of Essex)

Men's Waterpolo (Manchester Metropolitan University)

Women's Rugby 1st Team (University of Exeter)


Student Volunteer of the Year

Aymun Khan (University of Nottingham)

Claudia Burrough (St Mary's University)

Zuleikha Chikh (UCLan)  


BUCS Unsung Hero

Bryn Clark (University of Hertfordshire) 

Lynn Turton (University of Nottingham)

Steve Curtis (University of Hull)  


Club of the Year Sponsored by SIS Pitches 

Basketball Club (Oxford University) 

Women's Hockey (UCL)

Women's Rugby Union (Lancaster University)   


#TakeAStand Award

De Montfort University

University of East Anglia 

University of Leicester  


A.D. Munrow Award - Outstanding Contribution to Higher Education Sport

Brian Ewing (University of Dundee) 

Stuart Wade (University of Liverpool)

Tudor Williams (University of South Wales)  


Participation Programme of the Year Sponsored by Technogym

Sport Participation Programmes (University of Nottingham)

UEActive (University of East Anglia)

Warwick Active (University of Warwick)  


Workforce Programme of the Year Sponsored by Playwaze

Coach Academy (Sheffield Hallam)

Ziggurat (University of East Anglia)

University of Nottingham  


BUCS Profile & Influence Award Sponsored by Teqball

Cardiff Met Sport (Cardiff Metropolitan)

Sport Marketing Team (University of Nottingham)

UEA+Sport (University of East Anglia)  


Please note: The Dan Porter Award does not have a shortlist. The winner will be revealed at the Awards Dinner.  


If you would like to view the criteria for any of these awards, please click here

Should you have any queries regarding the 2019 BUCS Awards, please contact Kate Harley.

Latest tweets

Image description
Image description
Back to top