Skip to Content
British universities & Colleges Sport

Taipei 2017

The international University Sports Federation (FISU) organise the World University Games (the Universiade) every two years.

The Summer Universiade consists of 10 compulsory sports with 13 compulsory disciplines and up to 3 optional sports chosen by the host country. The Universiade is widely recognised as the second largest multisport Games in the world after the Olympics and progressively has risen to World Class in scale and standard, with over 10,000 participants from 150+ countries.

Taipei Mascot

The 2017 Summer Universiade was held in Taipei, Chinese Taipei from the 19th - 30th August.

The 2019 Summer Universiade will be held in Napoli, Italy from the 3-14 July. The website will be updated with further information in due course.

Entries are by nationality (Great Britain and Northern Ireland), and students need not necessarily be studying in the UK or competing in the BUCS domestic programme.

Entries to the World University Games are made by BUCS on behalf of Great Britain & NI, supported by the National Governing Bodies of sport in Great Britain, and the level of performance will dovetail with NGB World Class performance pathways.

All entries are contingent on NGB support and funding. Each selected athlete will be required to make an Athlete Personal Contribution Payment. This amount is a set contribution to event costs that typically include : entry, flights, physiotherapy and medical support, travel visas, team management and administration, accommodation and catering, teamwear, and insurance.

The Selection Criteria, General Eligibility Criteria, regulations for the Universiade and the competition schedule will be available on this page in due course.

Latest tweets

Image description
Image description
Back to top