Skip to Content
British universities & Colleges Sport

Strong rowing squad depart for EUSA Rowing Championships 31/08/2009

A squad of almost 120 people from 18 different Universities are on their way to Kruszwica in Poland to represent British Universities & Colleges Sport (BUCS) at the 5th European Universities Sports Association (EUSA) regatta.

A squad of almost 120 people from 18 different Universities are on their way to Kruszwica in Poland to represent British Universities & Colleges Sport (BUCS) at the 5th European Universities Sports Association (EUSA) regatta.

The 3 day event will take place on Goplo Lake from next Thursday, 3rd September with the finals on Saturday 5th.

The EUSA Championships allow the athletes to compete within their University crews and represent their University – but at the same, gain the experience of being part of a national team. Universities being represented are widely spread, coming from Aberdeen, Cardiff, Swansea, and Queens University, Belfast.

The crews were selected based on the results of Championship events at BUCS Regatta in May. The team was put together by a selection panel consisting coaches and students from various University Rowing Clubs. The target of the panel was to create a team “of the size and quality to challenge for the Victor Ludorum”. The prestigious EUSA Rowing Salver is presented the the most successful nation at the regatta. In 2008, GBR came away 4th in the table having won the Salver for the previous 3 years.

Since the BUCS Regatta, many of the crews selected have had success at national events, including the National Championships of Great Britain, and also the Men’s 8 from Queens Belfast having much success at the Irish National Championships. Based on these results, the team is looking forward to some great results in Poland.

With the World Rowing Championships currently taking place in Poznan, it is expected that some nations will send athletes to EUSA Regatta immediately after, meaning the standard is expected to be high.

With such a large team, thanks must go to all of those who have helped pull the logistics together, including the team management, the drivers and Rock The Boat/Stitch for providing the team kit.

The progress of the team can be tracked by viewing

Team GBR

Aberdeen University:
Women’s 2x: Stephanie McDowall & Jenny Chambers
Women’s 1x: Stephanie McDowall

University of Birmingham:
Men’s Lwt 4x: Matthew Paul, Mark Jinks, Tim Porter, Max Gerrard

University of Bristol:
Men’s 4-: Ben Bathurst, Phil Williams, Will Preece, Matt Ridley

University of Cambridge:
Men’s Lwt 4-: Mark Aldred, George Blessley, Alistair Chappelle, John Kiely
Women’s 8: Fionnuala Ratcliffe, Constance Daggett, Jenny Davenport, Susannah Cass, Hermione Tuck, Evgenia Ilyinskaya, Katie Cranleigh-Swash, Harriet Eldred, Stephanie Warrollow

Cardiff University:
Women’s 4-: Emma Cockroft, Imogen Evans, Catriona Kay, Emily Parry

Durham University:
Men’s 2x: Alex Forster, John Ford
Women’s 4-: Jo Fitzsimons, Jenni Stephenson, Rosie Gaunt, Rebecca Tancock
Women’s 4x: Seonaid Crosby, Lidia Wagstyl, Sarah Harding, Flo Sivell
Women’s 8: Jo Fitzsimons, Jenni Stephenson, Rosie Gaunt, Rebecca Tancock, Seonaid Crosby, Lidia Wagstyl, Ruth Carpenter, Sophie Vellacott, Celeste Green (cox)

Edinburgh University
Men’s 1x: Al Sarahs
Women’s 2-: Jenny Reid, Polly Swann
Women’s 8: Kimberley Litzinger, Rowena Mortimer, Michaela Spitzer, Charlotte Jones, Isobel Jones, Minnette Monteith, Rhona MacCullum, Jenny Reid, Polly Swann

University of Glasgow:
W1x: Amanda Larcombe

University of Hertfordshire:
Men’s 1x: Dave Bell

Imperial College, London:
Men’s 2x: Henry Goodier, Josh Yerrell
Women’s 2x: Erica Thompson, Christina Duffy

University of London:
Women’s 4x: Emma Young, Rebecca Humphreys, Olivia Oakes, Louise Entwistle

Loughborough University:
Men’s 4x: Alex Tarrant, Pete Muhley, George Whitely, Tom Pryor
Women’s Lwt 2x: Laurian Pepper, Athlalie Redwood-Brown

Newcastle University:
Men’s 2x: Andy Corrigan, Edward Ford
Men’s 4-: Mason Durrant, Piers Pye-Watson, Charles D’Oncieu, Murray Wilkojc
Women’s 1x: Alice Leake

University of Nottingham:
Men’s 4x: Carl Delaney, Anthony Browne, Daniel Jones, Sam Cottrell
Men’s Lwt 4-: Richard Watton, Daniel Speed, George McKirdy, Alex Walker

Queens University Belfast:
Men’s 8: Damian Hammond, Patrick Black, Eamon Rafferty, Gavin Meek, William Howell, Jonathon Backus, Marc Butler, James Graham, Andrew Tubman

Swansea University:
Women’s Lwt 1x: Kate Evans

University of Teeside:
Women’s Lwt 1x: Nikki Bartlett

University of the West of England:
Women’s Lwt 1x: Natalie Trainder
Women’s Lwt 2x: Gess Boddingotn, Lexy Wates
Women’s Lwt 2x: Rose Bailey, Chantelle Hanley
Women’s 4x: Gess Boddington, Lexy Wates, Chantelle Hanley, Rachel Thompson

Stuart Redden (Birmingham)
Gordon Trevett (Bristol)
Roger Silk (Cambridge)
Ian Shore (Cardiff)
John Thickness (Durham/Driver)
George Warnock (Edinburgh/Driver)
Stuart Whitelaw (Imperial)
Andy Metcalf (London)
Julie Edwards (Lougborough)
Charlie Mulholland (Newcastle/Driver)
Mark Fangen-Hall (Queens Belfast)
Chantelle Hanley (West of England)

Management & Support Team
Ian South (Team Manager)
James Lee (Assistant Team Manager)
Alan Boddington (Driver)
Nick Acock (Driver)

Image description
Back to top