Skip to Content
British universities & Colleges Sport
Awards dinner trophies
  • Like this
  • Tweet this

BUCS Awards 2018 shortlisted nominees announced 06/06/2018

Following the most competitive shortlisting process in recent years, BUCS is pleased to announce the shortlisted nominees for this year’s BUCS Awards Dinner.

With over 200 nominations received from 45 institutions, the standard of nominees was extremely high and reflects the high level of performance by student athletes, professionalism of the Higher Education Sport sector and the dedication of those staff who work tirelessly behind the scenes.

Ten awards will be presented at a black tie dinner held at the conclusion of the annual BUCS Conference on Thursday 12 July. This year’s BUCS Conference and Awards dinner is being held at the University of the West of England (UWE) in Bristol.

BUCS Sportsman of the Year sponsored by Outgoing

Jonathan Davies – athletics

University of Birmingham

Duncan Scott – swimming

University of Stirling

Charlie Tanfield – cycling

University of Derby


BUCS Sportswoman of the Year sponsored by Outgoing

Eilidh Gibson – canoe slalom

University of Edinburgh

Maria Tsaptsinos – table tennis

University of Nottingham

Anna Hopkin – swimming

University of Bath


BUCS Team of the Year

Mens Volleyball Team

Northumbria University

Mixed Golf Team

University of Stirling

Men's Football Team

Cardiff Metropolitan University


Student Volunteer of the Year

Jack Needham

Loughborough University

Kristian Nedyalkov

University of Bath

Luke Sandys-Renton

University of Brighton


BUCS Unsung Hero

Jamie Dorman

University of Sussex

Susie Naybour

University of Nottingham

Alastair Matheson

Heriot Watt University


Club of the Year

Tennis Club

University of Nottingham

Fencing Club

Royal Holloway University

Archers Basketball

Cardiff Metropolitan University


TakeAStand Award

Reshaping Sport Campaign

University of Warwick

Inclusive Sport Offer

University of Nottingham

Be The Influence

University of Leicester


A.D Munrow Award - Outstanding Contribution to Higher Education Sport

John Hall

Colin West

Stew Fowlie



Participation Programme of the Year sponsored by Technogym

Warwick Sport

University of Warwick

Active Students / Active Staff

University of Hertfordshire


Brunel University, London


Workforce Programme of the Year

St Mary's University

Team Derby Workforce

University of Nottingham Leadership Academy


To find out more information on the criteria for each BUCS Award please click here.  

Tickets are still available and selling fast for the 2018 Awards dinner – booking will close on Friday 22 June 2018 at 11:59pm. Click here to secure your ticket.

The evening will consist of a drinks reception, three-course meal and after party, whilst bringing together our membership and partners to share notable achievements from across the sector. The doors for this year’s Awards Dinner will open at 6:15pm for drinks reception, with a prompt 7:15pm start. Dress code is black tie. 

Image description
Back to top