Skip to Content
British universities & Colleges Sport
2017 BUCS awards
  • Like this
  • Tweet this

2017 BUCS Award Winners 14/07/2017

To end the 2017 BUCS Conference, themed ‘achieving excellence in HE sport and physical activity’, nearly 500 BUCS member institution representatives gathered in the University of Hertfordshire’s Forum building for the 2017 BUCS Awards Dinner (#BUCSawards17).

Radio and television presenter and avid sports fan Colin Murray hosted the evening, as 12 awards – including two new awards – were presented. A raffle was held to break up the awards with prizes ranging from Adam Peaty’s ‘match worn’ signed swimming trunks to a Technogym Wellness Ball.  A total of £3023 was raised for The Perfect Day Foundation with Colin Murray topping it up to £5000.

2017 BUCS award winners:

Take A Stand Award

University College London

Chris Potter Sports Bursary

Emma Boucher – University of Portsmouth

Student Volunteer of the Year

Jason Hui – University of Manchester

Workforce Programme of the Year

Student Development Programme – Northumbria University

Participation Programme of the Year

ueactive – University of East Anglia

Team of the Year

Men’s Rowing 1st VIII – Oxford Brookes University

Club of the Year

Women’s Football Club – Royal Holloway, University of London

BUCS Unsung Hero

Daniel Slater – University of Nottingham

Sportsman of the Year

Lewis Oliva – Cardiff University

Sportswoman of the Year

Lily Owsley – University of Birmingham

Overall BUCS Champion University

 Loughborough University

Most Improved University

Southampton Solent University

Image description
Back to top