Skip to Content
British universities & Colleges Sport
Team GBR announcement
  • Like this
  • Tweet this

Great Britain & Northern Ireland delegation confirmed ahead of 2015 World University Games 05/06/2015

Following several months of rigorous selections, BUCS is pleased to announce a 102 strong delegation of 67 athletes and 35 coaches and support staff across 12 sports, set to represent Great Britain and Northern Ireland at the upcoming World University Games (Summer Universiade).

The biennial event, which is being held in Gwangju, South Korea from the 3 – 14th July, will see over 12,000 student athletes from 170 nations, compete in 21 sports.

The Games are widely recognised as the second largest and most competitive multi-sport event in the world, behind only the Olympics. Over 48% of medallists at recent Olympic Games have been Universiade medallists.
At the Games held in Kazan Russia in 2013, Great Britain took home 1 gold, 1 silver and 4 bronze.

Athletes are selected on a strict set of criteria and qualifying times, distances and results, and are ratified by the National Governing Body (NGB) in their respective sports.

Great Britain’s Chef de Mission, Andy Hibbert, will be heading GB’s delegation to the Games for the second time and is once again excited to be leading the next generation of GB athletes.

“The Games are a fantastic spectacle and provide an excellent opportunity for those elite athletes who are also studying, to gain competitive sporting experience on a world stage,” explained Andy.

“Great Britain has had a long tradition sending tomorrow’s sporting stars to the World University Games and I look forward to supporting this year’s athletes in South Korea.”

Past Great Britain athletes who have competed at a World University Games and gone onto compete at Olympic or Commonwealth Games include Beth Tweddle, Jess Ennis, Gemma Gibbons and Michael Jamieson.

In this year’s team, Lutalo Muhammad of Middlesex University, who won bronze at the 2012 London Olympics, will compete for Great Britain in Taekwondo (-87kg). Lutalo also competed for Great Britain at the World University Championships in 2010.

Great Britain has also been the host nation for the 1991 World University Games (then the World Student Games), when the event was held in Sheffield. The Games left several legacy venues including Ponds Forge, which is now host to the largest student multisport event in Europe – the BUCS Nationals.

Keep up to date with the team’s progress via the BUCS Facebook, twitter, Instagram and YouTube channels and via the team’s hashtag #WUGSGB

For more information on BUCS and the team representing Great Britain and Northern Ireland, visit the BUCS website.

For more information on the World University Games, visit the event website.

For more information on international university sport programmes, visit the FISU website.

The 2015 World University Games (Summer Universiade) Great Britain delegation is as follows: 

Andy Hibbert - Chef de Mission
Neil Rogers – Deputy Chef de Mission
Jo Crawford - HQ Manager
Greg Sturge - Student HQ Administrator
Stuart Milne - Media Officer
Adam Dismore - Student Media Officer
Dawud Izza - Student Translator/ HQ Administrator

Medical Team
Abosede Ajayi - Chief Medical Officer
Stephen Mutch - Head Physiotherapist
Andrew Hogg - Medical Officer
Polly Dhar - Physiotherapist
Beenish Kamal - Physiotherapist
Nikki McLaughlin - Physiotherapist
Kenny Watt - Physiotherapist
Raph Rinaldi - Physiotherapist

Recurve Men:                
Ashe Morgan – University of Birmingham
Alex Smith – University of Oxford
Tom Hall  - University of Warwick

Recurve Women:         
Sally Gilder – Chipping Camden Academy

Compound Men:         
Jordan Mitchell – Ulster University
Matthew Dale – University of Warwick
Phillip Tucknott – University of Edinburgh

Compound Women:   
Stephanie Clason – University of Edinburgh
Hope Greenwood – University of Edinburgh
Georgie Brown – Birmingham City University

John Dunster - Team Leader and Recurve Coach
Alistair Whittingham - Compound Bow Coach

Matthew Carder - University of Glasgow
Kerri Scott - Loughborough
Victoria Williams - Loughborough
Chloe Birch - Loughborough
Patrick Machugh - University of Strathclyde
Angus Pedersen - University of Bath
Martin Campbell - The Open University
Rebekka Findlay - University of the West of Scotland
Caitlin Pringle - Strathclyde University

Martyn Lewis - Team Manager
Hayley Adcock - Team Leader/ Coach

Rhea Gayle - University of St. Mark and St. John
Robyn Birch - University of St. Mark and St. John
Clare Cryan - Sheffield Hallam University
Jack Haslam - University of Sheffield

Tom Owens - Team Leader

Alex Tofalides – University College London
Amol Rattan – London School of Economics
Kristjan Archer – University of Notre Dame

Maciej Wojtkowiak - Team Leader/ Coach

Gymnastics (Artistic)
Kelly Simm - Southampton Solent University
William Trood - Loughborough University
Gabriel Hannah - Loughborough University
Thomas Gibbs - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Gheorghe Predescu - Team Leader/ MAG Coach
Keith Richardson - WAG Coach

Gymnastics (Rhythmic)
Lynne Hutchison - Open University
Stephani Sherlock - The Lesgaft National State University

Laura Austin - Team Leader/ Coach


Michael Howard - University of Edinburgh
Craig Chalmers - Strathclyde
Katie Bradbury - University of Exeter
Hannah Mccook - University of Stirling
Gemma Batty - University of Stirling
Henry Tomlinson - University of Stirling

Rob Macpherson - Team Manager
Daniel Farmer - Assistant Team Manager

Kristian Callaghan - University of Bath
Coral Kennerley - Cardiff University
Holly Lay - Reading
Seonaid McIntosh - Heriot Watt
Finbar Ryley - Newcsatle University

Alan Green - Team Leader/ Pistol Coach
Andrew Nimmo - Rifle Coach

Joe Patching - Auburn University
Craig Benson - University of Stirling
Cameron Brodie - University of Stirling
Kathryn Johnstone - Heriot Watt University
Jay Lelliott - University Of Bath
Max Litchfield - Sheffield Hallam
Calum Tait - The University of Edinburgh
Olivia White - University of Edinburgh
James Wilby - Loughborough University

Chris Jones - Team Leader
Mark Skimming - Head Coach
David Hemmings - Coach

Table Tennis

Evangeline Collier - Nottingham Trent University
Sean Doherty - University of Edinburgh

Chao Li - Team Leader

-63 Jordan Gayle - Manchester College
-68 Christian McNeish - Connell College
-74 Ruebyn Richards - Manchester Metropolitan
-87 Lutalo Muhammed - Middlesex University
-53 Harriett Akeroyd - Leeds Beckett
-73 Jade Slavin - Northumbria
+73 Bianca Walkden - Manchester College

Jinmi Choi - Team Leader

Darren Walsh - Southern Methodist University
Joe Salisbury - University of Memphis
Mark Whitehouse - Imperial College London
Alex Walker – University of Bath
Daneika Borthwick - The Florida State University
Olivia Nicholls - Loughborough University

Alistair Higham - Team Manager
Barry Scollo - Coach


Image description
Back to top